User Tag List

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Zombie The Source/Cause of the Infection!

Hello everyone on the forum. Random newbie here. In honor of the season two finale coming up this weekend, I've been re-listening to the series at work/working out/whenever. That's besides the point, though.

In chapter 12-4 (The War- Part 4) I noticed something interesting. When Tommy was initially offered to get rinsed off, he was rather polite about it, but just before the infection set in, he had a VERY strong aversion to water. That's when it hit me! I had a theory about the spread of the zombie infection.

MUTANT RABIES

Don't laugh it off quite yet. Just think about it for a moment! What are some characteristics of rabies?

1. Hydrophobia is an early sign of a rabies infection.
    -Considering Tommy resisted getting washed quite violently before he turned, plausible.

2. Spreads through bodily fluid contact, like saliva-to-blood and blood-to-blood.
    -Fits the bill on how the zombie disease spreads.

3. Rabies is characterized by cerebral dysfunction, abnormal behavior, hallucinations, and general agitation.
    -Zombie-like loss of coordination, reversion to primal behaviors, attacking humans and animals alike, etc... could all be potentially pulled from quasi-rabid behavior.

Now, of course, this doesn't explain things like the big ones and the little ones or the super-high rate of infection. At the same time, cases of prolonged turning could be examples of people who are resistant to the strain of the zombie virus. It makes sense! (to me, at least)

Thoughts?

"Body Removal Team"

Status
    Achievements:
    Bug Hunter First ClassPro Level Wiki EditorWA PointsTagger First Class25000 Experience PointsLOVED TO DEATHVeteran
    I've heard speculation that the legends of vampires may have been inspired by the behavior of people infected by rabies. I think you make a compelling case that whatever caused the zombie outbreak in WA had something to do with rabies.