PDA

View Full Version : "Criminal Minds" from a Horror perspective

Pteranodon
Nov 17th, 2011, 08:33 PM
I'm not exactly a 'fan' of this show, but I wanna compare opinions with other people who are into Horror (plus I need to vent)

Let me put it this way- I'm no newbie to the Horror genre, I've been STEEPED in horror, gore, terror, and violence (fictitious of course) for decades- my long 'search' has turned up some of the most shockingly horrible ideas ever to cross the imaginations of man.

But this show is TOO MUCH for me. I've been in movie theaters where HALF the audience walked out cause it was too scary- I sat through Takashi Miike's "Imprint" without looking away even once- but twice thus far I just couldn't make it through Criminal Minds! Yes, I'm talking about the same "Criminal Minds" with the guy from Dharma and Greg. The show that's on the local wholesome, family-oriented network...

It's dressed as a cop show, with handsome young people in well-lit offices, but try to look at it from a Horror perspective: really look at it- if it were sold as 'horror' they could never get away with half of the stuff that happens on it; autopsies in full view, EXTREME violence, EXTREME sadism (and I mean sadism that puts Saw to shame!), severed heads, 'Walking Dead' levels of gore etc etc. Tonight's show (almost certainly a rerun) I watched a psychiatrist BURY A WOMAN ALIVE cause it was her greatest phobia. WHAT!?! How is that 'wholesome' TV?

But because it's 'Greg' and it's not labeled 'Horror' they get past the censors and the nannies- and people who would NEVER watch some sick, lurid horror movie are enthralled by this nightmarish show.